In Case You Missed It


Tumblr.
November 2, 2009, 3:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

Of all of the social networking sites, Tumblr is one of the newest and most visually appealing, emphasizing image over text. Similar to the News Feed and live updates posted on Facebook, Tumblr has a “Dashboard” which blogrolls up-to-the-minute content from everyone that a specific user is subscribed to. Considering my last post was about all of the different viral and social networking sites, the thing I would like to point out that is especially handy and above par for Tumblr is that within Tumblr a person can subscribe to the Tumblrs of such viral sites, thus getting their content without even leaving Tumblr. This is an excellent marketing and branding tool on Tumblr’s part. For example, there is a Tumblr specifically for TXTSFRMLSTNGHT, FML and many others. There are also certain Tumblrs that have gained notoriety through Tumblr themselves, even if they do have an outside site. One such example is Wordboner, a site that creates witty sayings and graphics that can be ordered on posters and t-shirts. But without these sayings getting a presence in the Tumblr blogroll for those that follow them, it is pretty safe to say that they would have a lot less web traffic.

And so it is with this that I encourage all of you to get a Tumblr, if not for the constant narcissistic updates you can post about yourself, your daily life and your friends, but so that you can read the constant updates, funny pictures and latest Internet memes of others! And once you get started, start to follow me! My Tumblr is here.

Let me know what you think, I certainly enjoy (perhaps overindulge would be a better word) in the Tumblr world myself.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

God I love FML. It just has that perfect punch line you always know is coming. I am currently trying to stop the swirl of my real life into the virtual, online life, but perhaps I should start a Tumblr account. The layout is clean and enjoyable. Oh well, goodbye sunlight.

Comment by JMT

So I am obsessed with TFML and have the app on my phone and check it whenever I am bored, which is like four times a day. I almost get mad when I read one that I read a few hours earlier…But I had no idea it was a Tumblr. I saw yours and might just have to start my own…thanks!

Comment by jaclynboland

All this internet jazz leaves me somewhat overwhelmed. It’s an interesting thing, Tumblr, but I think I may have enough social networking gobbledy-gook for now. Oh the interwebs, how I love ya and hate ya.

Comment by JEllerbrock

kelly, i love the whole idea of your blog in general. good stuff. but this post in particular caught my attention. i’ve always soooort of, sooomewhat wanted a tumblr, but being the stubborn anti-social networking person that i am, have resisted. seeing yours makes me want one! i never check those TFLN or FML things, simply because i hate spending my time frolicking all over the web. but a tumblr would make it much simpler AND i could be down with the TFLN/FML lingo. hmm. thanks for laying it all out for me to see!

courtney

Comment by Courtney




Leave a Reply

